Glamglow Mask: Is It Worth the Hype?

As I grow older, I always has problem with large pores and clogging sebum. It isn’t much of a problem in daily basis where I rarely use a heavy make up on, but in some occasion when I need to, having a noticeable sebum clogging your large pores at the center of your face is a nightmare. I tried various products to overcome this issue, but mostly I only use face masks or sticky nose pack. However, after such a long time, I don’t find any of these products to be very effective as they also have cons, too. For example, face masks is not designed to specifically target sebum, so it is still there after a few time applying the face masks. While nose pack will not only take out sebum but also facial hairs and it hurts every time you peel it off. There said, clogging sebum is not easy to remove.

One of the many products I heard to effectively remove sebum and take care of the large pores is the Glamglow Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment. The reviews of the product are everywhere from youtube, to personal blogs, and beauty forums. They highly recommend this product as it has the actual effect as promised with regular use. I believe most of product will be more effective if you use it regularly. There is no thing such as instant result, right? Anyway, this Glamglow mask is the most pricey one I purchased. Since I decided to just try it, I did not have the heart to buy the full size product as it will be IDR 890.000 for one jar in Sephora, of course you can always find a better deal from online shop if you can find any trusted one. So, when I found one Instagram-based online shop that has its travel size product with reasonable price at IDR 250.000, I decided to give it a go. It came in a small tube packaging of 15 grams. I was surprised by how small it was the first time considering the price, but I decided to not judge the product by its cover, or the price. But of course, it is also alright to judge a product by the price.

The main ingredient of the mask are volcanic rock, French sea clay, and active green tea leaf. it says to have a tingling and soothing sensation upon using and also has the advantage to exfoliate skin as well. The mask is grey in color, it has the natural mud color, yeah right.

I have used the products four times so far, and it has shown a good desired result. The product dries quickly upon applying so you need a fast hand for it. Although the instructions says to leave the mask for 10 minutes, I usually take as long as 1 hour when using this product, since it is expensive and I’m a stingy person so I have to use the most out of it, beside only put them on my T-zone as it is where my source of problems. Also, 10 minutes is not enough to observe of how this mask works. I did not find the tingling sensation to be annoying like some others did. A couple minutes after it dries and changes color into light grey, it starts to kind of absorbing the oil on your face. The longer you put them, it sucks more oil. After feeling satisfied with it, I rinse my face with water. It leaves my skin smoother and I feel clean.

I believe, a good product is judged by how it does all its claims. First, it says to leave skin noticeably radiant and glowing, helps leave skin smoother, brighter, and softer, tightens and tones skin and pores, helps provide a more youthful appearance. Well, I’m not sure that this will be the direct result of the mask but combined with my other skincare regime, it is kind of true. I feel my skin is noticeably brighter and smoother. It easier for me to wear my make up and it lasts longer than ever. It activates collagen synthesis, provides gentle exfoliation, absorbs impurities without removing natural oils, and helps protect against free medical damage. For these claims, I can agree with some of them while the rest, I cannot be too sure without testing it with dermatologist. It is indeed provide exfoliation upon rinsing. It doesn’t strip off natural oil completely, as it doesn’t leave your skin dry but more of hydrating. Natural oil is the sebum on your face that later will clog your pore and gives you problem if you cannot take a good care of it when it becomes excessive. Judging by these effects, the product has fulfill most of its duties.

Although I have to admit that the product lives up to its name, I will still think twice before repurchase this one. The product itself is said to be intended for Hollywood artists to have their skin ready for camera. No wonder the price is almost too darn expensive for a mud. I should probably try several products that has the same function as this one. In the end, I can say that the Glamglow Youthmud mask is worth the hype, but not the price.

Leave a Reply

